Cured Sausage: 205 Advanced Thermal Processing

• Yearling

OK, I gave it a try and appears I’m not as smart as I look!! I made three 1 lb batches to try some stuff and did not turn out well. My first time with Carrot Binder, Sure Cure, Hickory Smoke and Chili Dog Seasoning. I usually smoke and this is my first time using the water cook.
    Here’s what I did
    -I made 3- 1 lb batches, all of which contained 1 tbsn & 2 tspn Carrot Binder,
    1/4 tsp (4 oz) Sure Cure Pink
    -All were cooked in water, starting temp around 140 and up to 175.
    -All were tossed into ice water when they reached 160
    -All were done at the same time on the same oven top and heat measured constantly with a digital probe.
    Batch 1. Added 1/2 Tsp Hickory Smoke, 3 oz of water and Callagen Casing.
    Result: Really bad. Casing fell off, what casings stayed on had water in them and when I removed the lose casings, the meat was done on the inside but some had what looked like raw meat next to the casing. After they cooled were really dry and looked bad. Will probably grind and add to chili. Appeared to have spots of grease on the outside.
    Batch 2. Added Chili Dog Seasoning and Callagen casing with 4 oz of water. These appear OK and taste pretty good and casings stayed on. Still kind of dry, but OK
    Batch 3. Added some Summer Sausage Seasoning I had laying around and added per the package for 1#. Also added Hickory Smoke Seasoning and used Mahogany Summer Sausage Casing. The casing is not tight at all, meat loose in the casing. Meat appears to be done, but very tender and very moist.

I suspect the water added and the cooking is the problem. Usually I would just try again, but with the Walton World insight and at the risk of really looking stupid, what happened?

• Team Blue Admin Walton's Employee Power User