• I am new to meat sticks and i am not happy with the results. maybe you can give me some pointers. I have been grinding with the smallest plate so the meat is super fine to go through the smallest tube when using sheep casing. it helps a great deal to not have blow outs. 73% meat 27 % fat. 2 cups binder with 10 pounds meat. when i did a sample cook it was like sawdust. when I filled the casings they were packed perfectly. after the process, first inspection was they were firm but when i tried it they chewed like firm mashed potatoes. There was a crunch to the skins but the inside was very soft. IT was 165 degrees. As a beginner im thinking that i should have used the next biggest plate which i think i used an 1/8 so then a 1/4 may have made them tougher ? This is about the 5th time ive made meat sticks and each time has been a different problem. most of the time there has been so much shrinkage that the casings are not even touching and they were packed full when I started. FRUSTRATING

• 20221018_154941.jpg
    20221018_154919.jpg

• Team Blue Power User Traeger Primo Grills PK Grills Canning Sous Vide Community Moderator Kansas

• Team Orange Masterbuilt Sous Vide Team Blue Power User

Bigsexy I had same problem with texture. I used first grind with 10mm plate I think and 2nd grind thru 3/8. Used 21mm casings and it came out much better.

• samspade problem for me is that non of my plates or tubes are marked so I have no idea what size they are.